Division of Animal Industries

State Records Authority of New South Wales
Viewed: [[ro.stat.viewed]]

Full description

In 1940 the administrative structure of the Department of Agriculture was reorganised, so as to provide educational and investigative services specific to the work of each division of the department. The 30 previously existing branches, were reduced to eight divisions, namely, Plant Industry, Horticulture, Animal Industry, Dairying, Science and Research, Marketing, Information and Extension Services and Administrative.(1)

The functions and responsibilities of the division of Animal Industry included animal health and livestock production services, stock and brands, sheep and wool, herdmasters', piggery, poultry and Apiarists’ branch.(2)

In 1996 the programs carried out by the division were, the wool and sheep products program, the meat, dairy and intensive livestock products program, the quality assurance and plant protection program.(3)

(1) Public Service Board Annual Report for the year ended 30 June 1940, p.26, Parliamentary Papers 1940-41 Vol.3, p.46
(2) Public Service Board Annual Report for the year ended 30 June 1941, p.23, Parliamentary Papers 1941-42, Vol.1, p.427
(3) New South Wales Government Directory 1996

User Contributed Tags    

Login to tag this record with meaningful keywords to make it easier to discover

Other Information

website :