The Big Australian Speech Corpus: An audio-visual speech corpus of Australian English [ 2010-07-01 - 2015-06-30 ]

Research Grant

[Cite as]

Researchers: Catherine Best (Chief Investigator) ,  A/Prof Steven Bird (Chief Investigator) ,  A/Prof Stephen Cassidy (Chief Investigator) ,  Dr Chetty (Chief Investigator) A/Prof Janet Fletcher (Chief Investigator)

Brief description The Big Australian Speech Corpus: An audio-visual speech corpus of Australian English. Contemporary speech science and technology are driven by the availability of large speech corpora. While audio databases exist for languages spoken in America, Europe and Japan, there is currently no large auditory-visual database of spoken language, and certainly not one for Australian English. Here we will establish the Big Australian Speech Corpus, which will support a speech science research and development using Australian English and facilitate the development of Australian speech technology applications from automatic speech recognition and text-to-speech synthesis used in taxi and other ordering services, to hearing prostheses and talking head aids for learning-impaired children, and a range of security and forensic applications.

Funding Amount $650,000

Funding Scheme Linkage Infrastructure, Equipment and Facilities

View this grant in the ARC Data Portal

Click to explore relationships graph
Other Information
Prof Denis Burnham

local : prof_denis_burnham

Dr Felicity Cox

orcid : 0000-0001-8479-7624

Prof Andrew Butcher

local : prof_andrew_butcher

Prof Michael Wagner

local : prof_michael_wagner

Dr Julien Epps

orcid : 0000-0001-6624-5551

Dr John Ingram

local : dr_john_ingram

Dr Joanne Arciuli

orcid : 0000-0002-7467-9939

Dr Roberto Togneri

local : dr_roberto_togneri

Dr Philip Rose

local : dr_philip_rose

Dr Nenagh Kemp

local : dr_nenagh_kemp

Prof Anne Cutler

orcid : 0000-0002-4203-0692

Prof Robert Dale

local : prof_robert_dale

Dr Takaaki Kuratate

local : dr_takaaki_kuratate

Prof David Powers

local : prof_david_powers

Dr David Grayden

orcid : 0000-0002-5497-7234

Dr Deborah Loakes

orcid : 0000-0001-7620-3769

Prof Dr Mohammed Bennamoun

local : prof dr_mohammed_bennamoun

Dr Trent Lewis

local : dr_trent_lewis

Dr Roland Goecke

orcid : 0000-0003-2279-7041

Prof Eliathamby Ambikairajah

local : prof_eliathamby_ambikairajah

Prof John Hajek

local : prof_john_hajek

Dr Shunichi Ishihara

local : dr_shunichi_ishihara

Dr Yuko Kinoshita

local : dr_yuko_kinoshita

Dr Dat Tran

local : dr_dat_tran

Prof Mark Onslow

local : prof_mark_onslow

Viewed: [[ro.stat.viewed]]