Southern District [I] [Courts of General and Quarter Sessions]

State Records Authority of New South Wales
Viewed: [[ro.stat.viewed]]

Full description

The Southern District of the Courts of General and Quarter Sessions appears to have been established in 1859. Generally the District comprised courts in the outer southern metropolitan, far south coast, southern tablelands, and Monaro areas. There was some inter-change of individual courts with the neighbouring South-Western District.

Courts were held at the various places within the Division on the dates proclaimed in the NSW Government Gazette at the beginning of each year. In 1879 the Courts sat at Goulburn, Yass, Wollongong, Bega, Braidwood, Queanbeyan and Cooma. (1)

The district was abolished by the beginning of 1903 and most of the courts transferred to the new Southern and Hunter District. (2)

(1) NSW Government Gazette (No.384), 9 December 1878, p.4888.
(2) Ibid., 16 January 1903.

CGS 1286
Public Service Lists 1859 - 1882
Law Almanac, NSW Government Printer, 1882 - 1973

User Contributed Tags    

Login to tag this record with meaningful keywords to make it easier to discover

Other Information

website :