ARC Centres of Excellences - Grant ID: CE140100008 [ 2014 - 2023 ]

Research Grant

[Cite as]

Researchers Prof Andrew Millar; Prof Barry Pogson; Prof Stephen Tyerman; Prof Ian Small; Prof James Whelan; A/Prof Justin Borevitz; Prof Ryan Lister; Prof Owen Atkin; Dr Matthew Gilliham; Prof Rana Munns; Prof Mark Stitt; Prof Dr Ralph Bock; Prof Joseph Ecker; Prof Joanne Chory; Dr Elizabeth Vierling; Prof Eva-Mari Aro; Prof Asa Strand; Prof Ping Wu

Brief description ARC Centre of Excellence in Plant Energy Biology. We propose a novel approach to improve sustainable yield by optimising the overall efficiency of energy capture, conversion and use by plants. Efficiency gains in metabolism, transport, and development will be more effective than optimising single nutrient inputs or product outputs. Improving multiple parameters simultaneously is a necessary solution to the increasing demand for more crop yield from finite land, water, and nutrient resources. Unpredictable environmental challenges adversely affect plant growth and further perturb plant energy balance, limiting yield. The epigenetic controls, gene variants and signals discovered will provide a new basis for sustainable productivity of crops and will future-proof plants in changing climates.

Funding Amount $26,000,000

Funding Scheme ARC Centres of Excellences

Click to explore relationships graph
Viewed: [[ro.stat.viewed]]