ARC Centres of Excellence - Grant ID: CE140100041 [ 2014-08-15 - 2022-12-31 ]

Research Grant

[Cite as]

Researchers: A/Prof Janet Fletcher (Chief Investigator) ,  Dr Evan Kidd (Chief Investigator) A/Prof Rachel Nordlinger (Chief Investigator) Dr Franklin Chang (Partner Investigator) A/Prof Bee Ng (Partner Investigator)

Brief description ARC Centre of Excellence for the Dynamics of Language. Language is central to human existence and to the flow of information. The Centre will address the most critical questions about language: How do languages evolve? How different can languages be? How do our brains acquire and process them? How can technologies deal with the complexity and enormous variability of language in its central role in human information processing? What can Australia do to increase its linguistic abilities at a time of increasingly multilingual demands in trade and information? The Centre will also secure language heritage, develop new language technologies, connect policy with indigenous and migrant communities, and build strategies to help 1st and 2nd language learning and those isolated by language difficulties.

Funding Amount $28,000,000

Funding Scheme ARC Centres of Excellence

View this grant in the ARC Data Portal

Click to explore relationships graph
Other Information
Prof Nicholas Evans

local : prof_nicholas_evans

Prof Jane Simpson

orcid : 0000-0002-7487-1234

Prof Anne Cutler

orcid : 0000-0002-4203-0692

Prof Gillian Wigglesworth

orcid : 0000-0003-2753-5200

Dr Simon Greenhill

orcid : 0000-0001-7832-6156

Dr Nicholas Thieberger

orcid : 0000-0001-8797-1018

Prof Janet Wiles

orcid : 0000-0002-4051-4116

Prof Helen Chenery

local : prof_helen_chenery

Prof Alan Rumsey

orcid : 0000-0002-9710-4695

Prof Kim Sterelny

local : prof_kim_sterelny

Dr Paola Escudero

local : dr_paola_escudero

A/Prof Caroline Jones

orcid : 0000-0001-6277-8262

Prof Catherine Travis

local : prof_catherine_travis

Dr Judith Bishop

local : dr_judith_bishop

Prof Morten Christiansen

local : prof_morten_christiansen

Prof Greville Corbett

local : prof_greville_corbett

Prof Russell Gray

local : prof_russell_gray

Prof Dr Stephen Levinson

local : prof dr_stephen_levinson

Prof Elena Lieven

local : prof_elena_lieven

Prof Miriam Meyerhoff

local : prof_miriam_meyerhoff

Prof Caroline Rowland

local : prof_caroline_rowland

Prof Rena TorresCacoullos

local : prof_rena_torrescacoullos

Dr Jakelin Troy

local : dr_jakelin_troy

Prof Virginia Yip

local : prof_virginia_yip

Prof Stephen Matthews

local : prof_stephen_matthews

Viewed: [[ro.stat.viewed]]